Is the CloudLift Mattress Topper Truly Worth $139? I Put 5 Mattress Toppers to the Ultimate Test.

Emily Carter
Emily Carter · Home & Lifestyle Writer · Updated October 2026

If you're looking at the CloudLift mattress topper from The Pillow Home, you probably found it the way I did: in a Google Shopping card. King "200cm," $159, "was $239," 4.7 stars, free next-day delivery. This isn't a Facebook ad brand. There is no Pillow Home page in the Meta Ad Library at all; the demand comes from Shopping and from search, where "cloudlift mattress topper" now gets a couple of thousand looks a month. A $139 queen with a 3 inch loft and a 90-day guarantee sounds like the sensible middle choice. Most of what I found is on the product page if you read it slowly. The rest is on the refund policy and the Better Business Bureau file.

I ordered a CloudLift in Queen, slept on it, washed it, and put it next to four others: Kemet's new Cloud Mattress Topper, Onuia's Cloud Topper, Brooklinen's down alternative topper, and Parachute's down alternative pad. I compared them on loft, fill, cover fabric, skirt fit, where they ship from, how returns work, and price. The wider field is in our best cloud mattress toppers roundup; this page is the CloudLift, claim by claim.

Here's the honest breakdown of every topper I compared:

Quick summary: If you're short on time, skip to the final verdict or the side-by-side comparison table.

Top Pick

Kemet Cloud Mattress Topper: Our Top Pick

Kemet Cloud Mattress Topper fitted on a queen bed
From $199.95  $400 · Queen $249.95

Kemet 9/10

1200 GSM down-alternative fill, box-stitch quilted so the loft stays even, inside a 100% cotton cover. The elasticated deep pocket fits mattresses from 8 to 24 inches deep, so it stays put on a thin guest bed and a deep pillow-top alike. Nearly three times the fill of a standard 450 GSM pillow-top pad, and it goes straight into the washing machine. The trade-off of all that fill: it sleeps warmer than a thin pad and is a heavy load to wash and dry.

What put it on top for me is that it answers every question the CloudLift leaves open. The fill has a weight, 1200 GSM, where the CloudLift has none, and it's the heaviest stated fill in this comparison. The cover has one stated fabric, 100% cotton, not microfiber on one graphic and cotton on the next. And an unused topper can go back within 30 days, less a 25% restocking fee unless it arrives faulty. It ships free from a US warehouse in 3 to 7 days, and it comes from a brand that already holds the Cotton Egypt Association's Gold Seal for its towels. Half off list price right now.

View the Cloud Mattress Topper →

The Pillow Home CloudLift Mattress Topper: My Full Review

The Pillow Home CloudLift cooling mattress topper fitted on a bed
Queen $139  $219 · Twin $119 · King $159

The Pillow Home 4/10

The CloudLift went up on thepillowhome.com on July 4, 2025, about fifteen months after the store's first wedge pillows, and it's the only piece of bedding in a catalogue of 37 pillows, cushions and covers. It's a quilted down-alternative pad: box-stitched squares, a fibre fill the graphics call "7D and 5D snow down alternative," and a 360-degree elastic skirt the listing says stretches over 8 to 21 inch mattresses. The size chart gives every size a height of 7.5 cm, about 3 inches, and lists widths in centimetres first (a queen is "150cm," a king "200cm"), which tells you where the listing was written. Out of the bag it's what I said in the roundup: a competent mid-thickness pad, plusher than the Brooklinen, nowhere near a pillow top. It went through my washer on cold and came out fine.

The listing is where it starts to wobble. The product description is one line, "Cooling Mattress Topper for Back Pain," and every spec lives in the picture carousel. One graphic says "Double Brushed Microfiber" and "Brushed Microfiber Top Surface." The next one says "300TC cotton top." It can't be both, and nothing on the page settles it. There's no fill weight anywhere, so "extra thick" has no number behind it and I can't put it in the same column as Kemet's 1200 GSM. The "cooling" is an "AirFlow Matrix" of "thousands of micro air channels," which describes quilted fibre, not a fabric technology; in practice it slept the way fibre pads do, cooler than memory foam, no cooler than the Brooklinen. The page also calls it "the ONLY mattress topper with patented Stay-Put Corner Technology" without a patent number, says it was "developed by sleep engineers" without naming one, and runs an "Only 20 units left" banner next to a limit of three per order.

Then the reviews. The product page shows 4.74 stars from 2,376 reviews and not a single one-star. The review app's own data feed tells a different story. Every review in it is flagged as an unverified buyer. The oldest block is dated September 24, 2020, nearly five years before the product existed, and page after page of it is blank entries labelled "Review without content." The newest is dated June 11, 2025, three weeks before the CloudLift was created on the store on July 3, 2025. Not one review is dated after the topper went on sale. The Google Shopping card I clicked quoted a different number, 4.7 stars from 462, and promised free next-day delivery; the site's shipping policy says 24 to 48 hours of processing plus 3 to 7 business days to the US, and the one-star reviews say two to five weeks.

Who is The Pillow Home? A Shopify store whose domain was registered on December 20, 2023, selling CozyRest neck pillows, wedge pillows, a pregnancy pillow, a seat cushion and this one topper, with no page in the Meta Ad Library; its traffic comes from Google Shopping and search. The contact page lists 1342 NM 333, Tijeras, New Mexico, a small retail strip east of Albuquerque. The Better Business Bureau says the business at that address told them it has no connection to The Pillow Home, that BBB "is unable to verify the true location of this business," and rates it F, with 134 complaints in three years and 52 of them unanswered. The terms of service are governed by German law. The refund policy's only printed return address is in Wuxi, Jiangsu, China, care of a company called Bontad Limited, which I couldn't find in any company register.

That matters because of the guarantee. "90-day money-back" is on every page, but the refund policy says "the cost of the return will be paid by the customer," the item has to be unused with tags and original packaging, and the address arrives by email after approval. Trustpilot averages 4.2 from 5,598 reviews, which looks fine until you sort by one star, where 19 percent of them live: return postage to China quoted at $66 to $175, deliveries of two weeks to two months, cancellations refused, refunds that never arrive, and a topper buyer on October 10, 2026 who found it "thinner than expected." At $139 the pad itself is fine. It's everything around it that costs you the moment something goes wrong.

View on thepillowhome.com

Onuia Cloud Topper

Onuia Cloud Topper on a bed
Queen $249.95  $500

Onuia 3/10

The Instagram one. Onuia's Cloud Topper promises "1000 GSM, wrapped in 100% premium cotton," but the listing never names the fill, the Amazon listings for the same topper call it down-alternative fibre, and the product description is pasted from an AI chat with the chat window's HTML still in the page source. A near-identical topper sells on Walmart under the name Westmonth for about $110 with 3.2 stars. It ships from Asia, and returns go back there at your cost, the same arrangement the CloudLift's refund policy describes, at nearly twice the price. Plush for a few nights, but at $249.95 you're paying Kemet money for a mystery. Full Onuia Cloud Topper review here.

Find on Amazon

Brooklinen Down Alternative Mattress Topper

Brooklinen down alternative mattress topper
Queen $159

Brooklinen 6/10

The honest budget option from a real brand. Microgel fill in a 240 thread count cotton shell, an 8 by 8 inch box top, a waterproof layer on the underside, and a skirt that fits mattresses up to 18 inches. It's machine washable and Brooklinen backs it with a long trial and a US return address. The catch is that it's barely an inch thick. It protects the mattress and softens the surface, and it's thinner than the CloudLift, but every spec on its page is a spec, not a trademark. Full Brooklinen mattress topper review here.

Find on Amazon

Parachute Down Alternative Mattress Pad

Parachute down alternative mattress pad
Queen $190

Parachute 5/10

Parachute calls this a mattress pad, and that's the right word. Microfiber fill that "mimics the lofty feel of down" and an elastic hem for a snug fit. It's well made and the brand is easy to deal with, but at $190 for a queen you're paying for the name. The loft is modest, Parachute doesn't publish a fill weight either, and if you want a real pillow top you'll be reaching for something thicker within a month. Next to the CloudLift it's thinner and $51 more, but a return goes to a US address.

Find on Amazon

Side-by-Side Comparison: All 5 Mattress Toppers

Brand Fill Cover Fits Mattress Ships From Price (Queen) Rating
Kemet 1200 GSM down-alternative 100% cotton 8 to 24 in US warehouse, 3 to 7 days $249.95 9/10
The Pillow Home CloudLift Down alternative, weight not stated, 3 in "Brushed microfiber" and "300TC cotton" (listing says both) 8 to 21 in Not stated; returns to China $139 4/10
Onuia "1000 GSM," material not named "100% premium cotton" (unverified) 10 to 21 in Asia, weeks $249.95 3/10
Brooklinen Microgel, about 1 in loft 240 TC cotton Up to 18 in US $159 6/10
Parachute Microfiber, weight not stated Not stated Elastic hem US $190 5/10

Final Verdict: Which Mattress Topper Is Actually Worth It?

The CloudLift is a decent pad sold by a store I would not want to return anything to. If you buy it on sale, it fits, and you never need the guarantee, you'll get a soft 3 inch layer for $139 and be reasonably happy with it. But the fill has no weight, the cover is microfiber on one graphic and cotton on the next, the 2,376 reviews are all dated before the product existed, and the refund policy sends your return to Wuxi at your own expense. That is a lot of fine print for a mid-table pad.

For the deep pillow-top feel with none of that risk, the Kemet Cloud Mattress Topper is the one in this group with the heaviest named fill at 1200 GSM, a 100% cotton cover, a skirt for mattresses up to 24 inches deep and US shipping. It's half off list right now with free US shipping and 30-day returns.

Kemet Cloud Mattress Topper on a queen bed
Side profile showing the topper's loft
Hand pressing into the box-stitch quilting
Stretch skirt over a mattress corner
Sheet turned back to show the topper
Kemet topper on a walnut bed at dusk
Launch Offer
Half Off List Price
+ Free US Shipping

The CloudLift taught me to read the refund policy before the product page. Kemet's fill has a number on it, and it ships from a US warehouse. That's the one I'd buy.

Shop Now

FREE US shipping · 30-Day Returns

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the CloudLift mattress topper worth it? +

At $139 for a queen on October 28, 2026, the CloudLift from The Pillow Home is a quilted down-alternative pad with a stated 3 inch loft, an 8 to 21 inch elastic skirt, and machine-wash care. As a pad it is decent. But the listing never gives a fill weight, one graphic calls the cover brushed microfiber and the next calls it a 300 thread count cotton top, the 2,376 on-page reviews are all dated before the product existed, and the refund policy makes you pay to ship returns to an address in Wuxi, China. The Better Business Bureau rates The Pillow Home F. We rated the CloudLift 4/10: fine if nothing goes wrong, expensive if anything does.

Is The Pillow Home legit, and where does it ship from? +

The Pillow Home is a Shopify store registered in December 2023 that sells pillows, seat cushions and one mattress topper. Its contact page lists an address on NM 333 in Tijeras, New Mexico, but the BBB reports that the business at that address says it has no connection to The Pillow Home and that BBB cannot verify the company's true location. The refund policy gives a return address in Wuxi, Jiangsu, China under the name Bontad Limited, and the terms of service are governed by German law. The shipping policy promises free worldwide shipping with taxes and customs included and 3 to 7 business days to the US after 24 to 48 hours of processing. Trustpilot shows 4.2 stars from 5,598 reviews, with 19 percent at one star, and BBB lists 134 complaints in three years. We report what the records say and score accordingly.

How thick is the CloudLift mattress topper, and what is it filled with? +

The Pillow Home's size chart gives every CloudLift size a height of 7.5 cm, about 3 inches. The fill is described only as 7D and 5D snow down alternative fibre with no weight stated, so there is no GSM figure to compare with other toppers. The cover is described as double brushed microfiber on one product graphic and as a 300TC cotton top on another, and the one-line product description does not settle it. The skirt is listed as stretching over 8 to 21 inch mattresses, and care is machine wash cold, gentle cycle, tumble dry low.

What is the best alternative to the CloudLift mattress topper? +

Our top pick is the Kemet Cloud Mattress Topper. It names its fill, 1200 GSM of down-alternative fibre, nearly three times a standard 450 GSM pad and the heaviest stated fill in this comparison, and lists a 100% cotton cover, box-stitch quilted, with an elasticated deep pocket for mattresses 8 to 24 inches deep. It ships free from a US warehouse in 3 to 7 days, US addresses only, with 30-day returns on unused toppers (less a 25% restocking fee unless faulty), from a brand that already holds the Cotton Egypt Association Gold Seal for its towels. A queen is $249.95 against a list price of $500. Read our full Kemet Cotton review for the background on the brand.

How did we compare these toppers? +

We bought the CloudLift at retail from thepillowhome.com, slept on it, and compared it with four alternatives on loft, fill, cover fabric, skirt fit, sizes, shipping origin, return terms and price. Every spec in the table comes from the brand's own listing or policy pages as of October 28, 2026, and we flagged every claim we could not verify, including the review dates, the cover fabric and the return address. Read more about how we test.

Reader Comments

25 comments
Thanks! Your comment has been submitted for review and will appear once approved.
RD
Rachel D. Denver, CO · 2 months ago

I bought the CloudLift in August off the Shopping card that said next-day delivery. It took 16 days. Tracking sat on "label created" for a week and then the first scan was overseas. The pad itself is okay, soft, fits my 12 inch mattress fine. But next-day was not a thing.

EC
Emily Carter · 2 months ago

That lines up with the site. The shipping policy says 24 to 48 hours of processing plus 3 to 7 business days to the US. The next-day line is on the Shopping card, not anywhere on thepillowhome.com, which is why I flagged it.

MT
Marcus T. Tampa, FL · 7 weeks ago

Three inches is generous. Mine measured closer to two once it settled, and after a week under a sleeping adult it's more like a thick mattress pad. Not bad for the money, but the name promises a cloud and this is a cushion.

JO
Jenna O. Columbus, OH · 6 weeks ago

The centimetre sizing threw me. "King 200cm" and "Cal King 180cm" in the dropdown, and I had to pull up a converter to work out which was mine. It did fit our king once it arrived, a bit wide on the sides, but who sells to Americans in centimetres?

DP
Dev P. San Jose, CA · 5 weeks ago

On the cooling: it's not cooler than a regular pad, it's just not foam. Fibre breathes, that's the whole "AirFlow Matrix." I slept warm on it through a hot September in a brushed shell. Fine with a cotton sheet over it now that it's October.

LS
Linda S. Phoenix, AZ · 5 weeks ago

Tried to use the 90-day guarantee. Got an email with an address in Jiangsu and instructions to send it tracked. The post office quoted $92 for a queen topper in a box. The topper cost $139. I kept it. So the guarantee is real in the sense that the words are on the page.

BK
Brian K. Pittsburgh, PA · 1 month ago

Credit where it's due, the skirt is good. I have a 16 inch hybrid and it went on with room to spare and hasn't moved in a month. That's the one thing on the page that works exactly as described.

CM
Carol M. Richmond, VA · 1 month ago

Honest question. Is the Kemet really that much thicker than the CloudLift, or is it the same kind of pad with a bigger number on it? $110 more is a lot for a guest room.

EC
Emily Carter · 1 month ago

Fair question. Kemet publishes 1200 GSM; the CloudLift publishes nothing, so I can't compare numbers. By hand and by eye the Kemet is noticeably thicker and heavier on the bed and it held its loft after two washes, which is why it's the pick. For a guest bed that gets used twice a year, the CloudLift on sale is a reasonable buy. For your own bed I'd spend the extra.

SH
Steve H. Albuquerque, NM · 4 weeks ago

I live twenty minutes from Tijeras so I drove past 1342 NM 333 on the way home. It's a little strip with a restaurant, a church and a glass shop. There is no pillow company. Explains the BBB note.

PN
Priya N. Jersey City, NJ · 3 weeks ago

I went and sorted the reviews on their page by oldest after reading this. Pages and pages of "Review without content" from 2020 on a product that launched in 2025. Everybody should check that before trusting a 4.7.

GW
Greg W. Nashville, TN · 3 weeks ago

Mine developed a dip in the middle after about three weeks where we both sleep. A wash and a tumble dry fluffed it back up most of the way. It's fibre, it does that. Just don't expect it to feel like day one for long.

ML
Monica L. Sacramento, CA · 3 weeks ago

Bought two Twins at $119 for the guest room and for that job they're fine. Soft, washable, nobody has complained. I would not put one on my own bed and I would not order anything from them that I might need to send back.

TB
Tom B. Boise, ID · 2 weeks ago

"Only 20 units left in stock" has said 20 every time I've opened the page since September. It's a widget, not an inventory count.

AR
Aisha R. Atlanta, GA · 2 weeks ago

Ordered the wrong size, emailed within the hour to cancel, got a reply the next morning saying it had already shipped. It arrived eleven days later. So it "shipped" in under an hour and then took eleven days. Make of that what you will.

KF
Kevin F. Milwaukee, WI · 2 weeks ago

The 300TC cotton thing bugged me too, so I looked at mine closely. The top feels like a brushed polyester sheet, nothing like cotton. Not a dealbreaker at this price, but don't buy it because you think you're getting a cotton cover.

HG
Hannah G. Portland, ME · 12 days ago

The Trustpilot 4.2 looked reassuring until I filtered to one star. It's the same story over and over: return to China, postage more than the product, no reply. The five-star ones are mostly "arrived quickly, looks nice." Different products, I think, in the sense that one group never needed to contact them.

LA
Luis A. San Antonio, TX · 10 days ago

We have a 20 inch mattress. The CloudLift page says up to 21 inches and it did go on, but only just. Does the Kemet skirt actually stretch that far or is that another number on a graphic?

EC
Emily Carter · 10 days ago

Kemet lists 8 to 24 inches and the skirt is a proper elasticated deep pocket, not just corner straps. I only tested it on a 14 inch pillow-top, where it was snug with stretch to spare. A 20 inch mattress sits inside that range with about 4 inches to spare, but the topper adds height of its own, so pair it with deep-pocket sheets and check the fit the first night.

BC
Beth C. Louisville, KY · 9 days ago

The banner says "5 year warranty." I emailed to ask what it covers and how to claim. That was eight days ago. Nothing. The only contact is an email address, so I'm not sure what a warranty is worth if nobody answers.

NJ
Nate J. Minneapolis, MN · 1 week ago

I'll be the fair voice. It's a $139 pad and it's not junk. Softer than the mattress pad it replaced, washes fine, skirt holds. The review is right that the risk is all on the "what if" side. If you're the kind of person who never returns anything, it's a reasonable buy on sale.

OW
Olivia W. Charlotte, NC · 6 days ago

For anyone confused by the sizes: "Full 140cm" is about 55 inches wide, a US full is 54, so it's a hair big. Fit was fine on ours, slightly loose at the sides. The "King 200cm" is listed at 78 inches and a US king is 76, so same deal.

RK
Raj K. Seattle, WA · 5 days ago

Germany for the terms, China for the returns, New Mexico for the contact page. I've never seen a store with three countries on three pages. Thanks for laying it out instead of just calling it good or bad.

DE
Dana E. Omaha, NE · 3 days ago

Went with the Kemet after reading this. Ordered Thursday, on the bed Monday. It is a lot deeper than the CloudLift my sister has; you sink in rather than sit on it. More money, but it's the first topper I've bought that changed how the bed feels.

CP
Chris P. Tucson, AZ · 1 day ago

Had the CloudLift in my cart from a Shopping ad and came here to check the brand first. Glad I did. Ordering the Kemet instead, mostly for the US return address. Will report back on the loft.